Civil Service Commission


  • Meets on the first Wednesday at 6 p.m. of each month on an as-needed basis.
  • Via Zoom and Dial-In
  • Sign up for 'Notify Me' to receive agendas and meeting access info.

Calendar  |  Current Agenda  |   Agendas & Minutes | Video Recordings 

**As of August 1, 2022, all committee and commission agendas and minutes can be found at Agendas and minutes prior to Aug. 1, 2022 are located in the 'Agenda & Minutes' link above and commission meeting recordings beginning June 2022 can be found by clicking the 'Video Recordings' link above**


Pos. No.
Name Appointed Term Exp.
Fuzzy Fletcher 03/09/2020 03/31/2024
Gary Bragg 09/25/2023 03/31/2026
James Rowland 01/27/2020 03/31/2024
Chris Stephen, Chair 02/14/2022 03/31/2026
Grahame Ross, Vice-Chair 07/25/2022 03/31/2024

Civil Service Secretary/Examiner

Kim Johnson


The Civil Service Commission consists of five members appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. Members serve four-year terms and are eligible for reappointment.


The Civil Service Commission has the following duties and powers:

To ensure equitable treatment of fire and police officers by the City. The commission conducts testing for police and fire positions, conducts promotional exams, and hears appeals of disciplinary actions.